Sawatdee Kaa (Hello)

Hello all! First off I apologize for the delay. Apparently my first lesson learned is that “free wi-fi” doesn’t mean that the wi-fi actually has to work. I have now been here in Samui for a week and have been able to log in here at my apartment only twice. Some days the internet is down all day and other times it’s just a bad connection, and that’s just how it is here. So I will try to update as much as possible when I can.
My plane ride over was…well…LONG! I flew into New York (JFK), then on to Frankfurt, Germany. We ended up sitting on the plane for 2 hours for some technical problems before we were able to take off. After finally landing in Singapore I realized I just barely missed my flight to Koh Samui. Since everyone on the plance had been traveling for 20+ hours the airline offered to send us to a hotel in the city so we could sleep since the next flight out was not until 8 hours later. I have to admit I was very excited to see Singapore, even if it was just for a few hours. So I managed to take a nap, eat some delicious (but very spicy) lunch, and walk around the city for a bit. It was beautiful!! I attempted to take a shot out of the cab window šŸ™‚

20120419-155823.jpg
After a total of 48 (ish) hours, I finally landed in Samui. I was bummed that I didn’t get to see the beautiful views since I was flying in at night, but it was pretty cool to see the Kongming lanterns light up the sky.

20120419-215817.jpg
After checking in at the Boonjumnong Apartments, I was finally able to sleep with lots of anticipation of what was to come.
The following day I was able to walk over to Vikasa and meet some of my fellow trainees. We decided a day on the beach was needed before our training, so we headed off to the W Resort to soak up some rays. Everyone here is so nice, and I ended up meeting some amazing ladies!!

20120419-221620.jpg
As you can see, the island is GORGEOUS, and the weather is perfect. Well, just a little humid for the sake of my hair šŸ˜‰ And even though I have layers and layers of bug spray on, I am also covered head to toe in mosquito bites. Small price to pay for paradise. The people here are VERY friendly and everything is so affordable! We went out to a nice dinner and paid under 200 Baht (which is around $6!!). So far this place is unbelievable. Stay tuned as I fill you in on the first week of teacher training…

4 thoughts on “Sawatdee Kaa (Hello)

  1. Food Babe says:

    LOVE THIS! I’m already living vicariously through you…and will be there with you in less than a week! Woot Woot! Thanks for the reminder on bug spray, what are you using? I’m ordering some cactus juice ASAP! I can’t wait to give you a big hug and a kiss! MUAH!

    • Nicole says:

      My mom went to HHM and got Neem soap and spray. It works pretty good, but I didn’t realize I was using coconut oil as my lotion and that was probably attracting them-DUH! So we’ll see what happens now. Everyone else is getting bit also, so just make sure you coat up several times a day! Can’t wait to see you! xoxo

  2. singa123 says:

    What do you eat for breakfast lunch and dinne is it preplanned. Can you stay raw vegan there? Is there like fresh fruit or salad bar?

    Is there juice? Is there a way to see the city and sorry but is there colonics any where around. Do you recommend this place? Do to need to have a certain skill level? Thank you!

    • Nicole says:

      Hello! The meals are preplanned and we get two meals a day buffet style. So a typical breakfast would include fresh juice to drink (watermelon, celary/pineapple, green veggies) Yogurt, museli, various fruits (mangos, dragon fruit, pineapple, oranges, bananas, mangosteen, papaya) bread, salad, sometimes a soup and sometimes an egg dish. For dinner we would have salad, various vegetable dishes, tofu, soup/curry, sometimes fish. So you can see it’s not entirely raw vegan. If you are interested I would check out http://www.evolutionofyoga.com. You can send inquiries to the owner Kosta. They are very accommodating, so if you wanted to request anything I’m sure you could ask. During break time you can pay extra for snacks like smoothies, coconut water, and desserts. But there are also several places on the island for that too. You don’t really have too much time during the course to sight see. You have a 3 hour break during the day, but honestly you are so tired. I would definitely recommend coming early and staying some time after the course. It is DEFINITELY worth it. You do not have to have a certain skill level, some of the other students have been practicing yoga for 3 months, and others have been teaching for years, so it was a good mix! If you have any additional questions let me know, or Kosta responds typically in 24 hours. šŸ™‚

      Namaste!

Leave a comment